Driving with a Suspended License Violations in Lynnwood
Pulled Over in Edmonds, Kirkland, Seattle, Everett, Marysville, King County, or Snohomish County? We Can Help.
Driving with a suspended license in Washington is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If you are charged with this offense, McAvoy Law, PLLC can help guide you through the necessary steps to clear your license, avoid fines and jail time, and settle your case with the court. With our help, it may be possible to get your driver’s license reinstated.
Common Reasons for Driver’s License Suspensions
In Washington, a suspended driver’s license means the loss of driving privileges for 364 days or less. Anything longer is considered a license revocation.
Suspension can occur for any number of reasons, including:
- Driving without insurance
- Failure to pay court-ordered child support
- Failure to appear in court (FTA)
- Failure to pay or respond to a traffic ticket
- Failure to pay accident damages
- Violation of driver’s license restrictions
- Driving under the influence
- Reckless driving
- Too many moving violations
- Reckless endangerment in a construction zone
- Hit and run conviction
- At fault in a fatal accident
- Probation violations
- Habitual traffic offender (HTO)
How Do You Get Your License Reinstated in Washington?
To get your driver’s license reinstated, if it was suspended for an unpaid traffic ticket, you first need to identify the court that suspended your license, which can be done on the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) website. Your attorney will then contact the court for information about any unpaid tickets and how to pay or contest them. If you have more than one unpaid ticket, you and your lawyer may need to deal with more than one court. Once all unpaid tickets are taken care of, the court must send an adjudication to the DOL before your license is reinstated.